Welcome to the website of the National Statistics Board (Ireland)

The National Statistics Board is responsible to Government for developing its statistical strategy. This responsibility includes the setting of priorities for the compilation and development of official statistics in Ireland and guiding the strategic direction of the Central Statistics Office.

The Board was established on a statutory basis in November 1994, under the Statistics Act, 1993.


Seminar to launch the NSB's A World Class Statistical System for Ireland - Strategic Priorities for Official Statistics 2015-2020

A seminar to launch the National Statistics Board’s A World Class Statistical System for Ireland - Strategic Priorities for Official Statistics 2015-2020 will take place on Thursday 10th September 2015


Venue: Royal College of Physicians of Ireland, 6 Kildare Street.

Time:  Registration begins at 9.30a.m. The seminar will commence at 10.00a.m. and conclude at 1.00p.m.

Register now: Please email your name and organisation to governance@cso.ie.



New National Statistics Board appointed

On March 12th 2014 the Taoiseach appointed the following persons to the National Statistics Board:

Dr. Patricia O Hara, Mr. Tom Geraghty, Ms. Rowena Dwyer, Dr. Helen Johnston, Mr. Gerard O'Neill, Mr. John Callinan (Department of the Taoiseach), Mr. John McCarthy (Department of Finance), Mr. Pádraig Dalton (DG, Central Statistics Office).

See biographical notes on each Board member here.

The term of the current Board will run until December 31 2016.


The next meeting of the National Statistics Board will be held on Wednesday 7th October 2015 at the Department of the Taoiseach


Minutes of previous meetings can be found here


 National Statistics Board May 2014

Front: Left to right, Pádraig Dalton (Director General), Patricia O'Hara (Chairperson)

Helen Johnston.

Back: Left to right, Gerard O'Neill, John Mc Carthy, John Callinan, Donal Kelly (Secretary), 

Rowena Dwyer

(Member not in photograph is Tom Geraghty)